the way she writes

orange bowl

palmwedel

When I arrived in Barcelona in June, I started reading Mercè Rodoreda’s “Plaça del Diamant”. The Catalan writer (1908 – 1983) writes how I want to take photos – with a very close look for the beauty in everyday life and a love for detail. I can still picture her writing about the orange peel on the vase and the apricot jam for Colometa’s children. It was probably the first book that inspired me to go outside to take photos. Other books inspire me to write and I stick to the same medium. Not this one. And Barcelona is full of many beautiful corners and shapes and insights, I can simply start walking into one direction and look around and around until I see more. And maybe even see the way she writes.

_________________________

Als ich im Juni in Barcelona ankam, las ich Mercè Rodoredas “Auf der Plaça del Diamant”. Die katalanische Autorin (1908 – 1983) schreibt, wie ich am liebsten fotografiere – mit einem ganzen nahen, detailverliebten Blick für das Schöne im Alltag. Selbst ein paar Seiten später denke ich immer noch an die Apfelsinenschalen auf der Vase und die Aprikosenmarmelade, die Colometas Kinder bekommen. Es war wohl der erste Roman, der mich inspirierte, rauszugehen und zu fotografieren. Andere Roman inspirieren mich, im gleichen Medium zu bleiben und zu schreiben. Nicht dieses. Und Barcelona ist voller hübscher Ecken und Formen und Einblicke. Ich kann einfach in eine Richtung loslaufen und mich auf dem Weg umschauen und herumschauen, bis ich mehr sehe. Vielleicht sogar so, wie sie schreibt.

 

Leave a Reply

