Stopover

cindyruch_Zwischenstop

Sometimes it feels like I know these cities, but all I know are the carpets, the big windows, the colourful dots of light on the runways and the gates of these city’s airports. Once again, I’m flying east over Abu Dhabi, not Dubai this time, and once again all these tickets tucked between the pages of my passport will bring me to a faraway but familiar place, to a sunburnt country I am looking forward to seeing and feeling again.

I took this picture on my last flight between the continents and seas, almost three years ago – I think it was in Singapore.

_________________________

Manchmal denke ich, ich kenne diese Städte, dabei kenne ich nur die Teppiche, die großen Fenster, die bunten Lichter auf den Landebahnen und die Schalter der Flughäfen in diesen Städten. Wieder einmal fliege ich gen Osten, über Abu Dhabi, diesmal nicht über Dubai, und wieder einmal werden mich all die Tickets, die zwischen meinem Reisepass klemmen, zu einem weit entfernten und doch nah bekannten Ort bringen, to a sunburnt country, und ich freue mich darauf, wieder dort zu sein.

Dieses Foto machte ich auf meinem letzten Flug zwischen den Kontinenten und Meeren, vor fast drei Jahren – ich glaube, es war in Singapur.

 

One thought on “Stopover

Leave a Reply

