lieber in Gedanken reisen

balcony diary

Wie Sehnsucht nach Ferne
mit Seßhaftigkeit vereinen. Wie, Fuß und Auge,
Träne und Lust.

from: lieber in Gedanken reisen, Hokusai by Friederike Mayröcker
(full poem on lyrikline)

There is a poem that has been travelling with me for the last five months. I read it when I was in Barcelona thinking of home, I read it when I was home thinking about the plane ticket to Australia –

I keep on reading it everywhere, here, there, like a realisation, like a confirmation that it is not just me wanting to travel and wanting to be home at the same time.


Ein Gedicht reist mit mir seit fünf Monaten. Ich las es, als ich in Barcelona war und an Zuhause dachte, ich las es, als ich zuhause war und an das Flugticket nach Australien dachte –

ich höre nicht auf, “lieber in Gedanken reisen, Hokusai” überall zu lesen, hier, dort, wie eine Realisation, wie eine Bestätigung, dass nicht nur ich es bin, die gleichzeitig reisen und zuhause sein möchte. 

Leave a Reply

