dear Sydney

fernspäher

surry hills

zwillingspalmen

dear Sydney,

I have been waiting for you. Even before I arrived at your door, you were caught in my name. Everywhere in Australia I had to repeat my name because they always only understood yours. Cindy sounds like Sydney. Especially in Australia. My -ndy and your -ney lead to the same -e. I like it. This connection.

I had almost forgotten your many faces. Only when I travelled on a sunday from Bondi Beach to Kings Cross to Newtown and further to Glebe and across the Harbour Bridge to the other side and back to Surry Hills and Paddington, I remembered everything. How many stories I have lived on your ground! Each neighbourhood so different, each story so different as well as every single person with whom I have experienced you. How diverse you are. I needed that sunday to try and knot you to one piece. It did not really work out. Each story needs its own stage, and you offered me many. I have realised that there is quite a lot of me in you.

Do you remember?

I would have loved to stay. To end this distance-city-relationship, to move to you, baking in your sun, sitting in your café chairs, leaning on your big trees, taking your ferries to other beaches, walking along your coasts and knowing that you would always stand behind me while I would be looking out onto the sea into the distance.

I need to leave but be sure: you will always be the favourite city I long for.

on flat white to go to the sea

seadream

bondi rescue


liebes Sydney.

ich habe auf dich gewartet. Schon bevor ich wieder bei dir ankam, hingst du in meinem Namen fest. Überall in Australien musste ich meinen Namen wiederholen, denn eigentlich verstanden sie immer nur deinen. Cindy sounds like Sydney. Vor allem im australischen. Da laufen mein -ndy und dein -ney auf das gleiche -i hinaus. Ich mag das. Das Verbündeltsein.

Ich hatte fast all deine Gesichter vergessen. Erst als ich an einem Sonntag von Bondi Beach nach Kings Cross nach Newtown und weiter nach Glebe und über die Harbour Bridge auf die andere Seite und zurück über Surry Hills und Paddington reiste, fiel mir alles wieder ein. Wie viele Geschichten ich schon alles auf deinem Boden erlebt hatte! Jedes Viertel so anders, jede Geschichte so anders, und jede Person, mit der ich dich erlebt hatte. Wie vielfältig du bist. Ich brauchte diesen Sonntag, um dich versuchshalber zu einer Einheit zusammenzuknüpfen. So ganz ist mir das nicht gelungen. Jede Geschichte braucht ihre eigene Bühne, und du hast mir viele geboten. Ich habe gemerkt, dass ganz schön viel von mir in dir steckt.

Weißt du noch?

Am liebsten würde ich bleiben. Diese Fernstadtbeziehung beenden, zu dir ziehen, mich in deiner Sonne baden, in deinen Café-Stühlen sitzen, an deinen großen Bäumen lehnen, in deinen Fähren zu anderen Stränden fahren, an deinen Küsten entlanglaufen, immer wissend, dass du mir den Rücken stützt während ich hinaus aufs Meer in die Ferne schaue.

Ich muss wieder gehen, aber sei gewiss: du wirst immer meine liebste Sehnsuchtsstadt sein.

zwei flaggen

sunday afternoon

One thought on “dear Sydney

Leave a Reply

